Inicio > Mundo, Opus Dei > Ordination of 31 new priests of Opus Dei

Ordination of 31 new priests of Opus Dei

Today (04/29/2017), Cardinal Cardinal Giuseppe Bertello, president of the Governorate of the Vatican City State has ordained 31 new priests of Opus Dei. The Prelate of Opus Dei, Monsignor Fernando Ocáriz, took part in the ceremony from the presbytery.

34301216566_a93d59e94eThe priests’ names are listed below. Among them, there are 10 Spaniards, 2 from Portugal, 1 from Lebanon, 3 Italians, 2 Peruvians, 2 from the Philippines and 2 from Australia, and 1 each from Belgium, Canada, Colombia, Kenya, Guatemala, Venezuela, Chile, the United States and Poland.

Cardinal Bertello stressed that “this is an occasion of joy for the Church, and of gratitude towards the Lord”. The ceremony took place in the Basilica of St. Eugene, in Rome.

Cardinal Bertello reminded the candidates that, in order to fulfill his mission, “the priest must have the same relation with Jesus Christ that Christ Himself has with God the Father: be united to Christ, and remember that, without Him, nothing is possible”.

All your ministry will come together in the service of the Word of God, Jesus Christ and his Gospel.


He also added: Dear candidates, about to be ordained. In a few moments, you will be transformed into Christ. You will be their living instruments, as if you disappeared so that He may act through you. From now on, the Mass will be the central point of your day.

Always and everywhere, you are called to build Opus Dei, the Work of God.

The new priests had received the ordination as deacons six months ago, from Msgr. Javier Echevarría, Prelate of Opus Dei, who passed away on December 12


Alejandro Pardo Fernández (Spain)
Etienne Montero Redondo (Belgium)
Andrés Echevarría Escribens (Peru)
Giovanni Manfrini (Italy)
Erwin See (Philippines)
Álvaro Ruiz Antón (Spain)
Javier Ruiz Antón (Spain)
Rafael Peró Baig (Lebanon)
Salvador Rego Bárcena (Canada)
Carlos Aníbal Valencia Ospina (Colombia)
Diogo da Cunha e Lorena de Brito (Portugal)
Francisco José Chapa Sancho (Spain)
Luigi Vassallo (Italy)
Pablo Rojo Mardones (Spain)
Martin Mundia Gikonyo (Kenya)
Álvaro René Villamar Rosales (Guatemala)
Álvaro Javier Mira García (Spain)
Alexander Vaz Serrano (Spain)
Santiago Callejo Goena (Spain)
Joseph Frederick Keefe (United States)
Daniele Guasconi (Italy)
Francisco Javier Bordonaba Leiva (Spain)
Phillip Joseph Elias (Australia)
John Paul Watson (Australia)
Rafael Alejandro Quintero Pérez (Venezuela)
António Maria Braga Dias Alves Mendes (Portugal)
Benjamín Goldenberg Ibáñez (Chile)
Gerard Jiménez Clopés (Spain)
Dante Parado Estepa Jr. (Philippines)
Adam Andrzej Sołomiewicz (Poland)
Ricardo Guillermo Bazán Mogollón (Peru)

Categorías:Mundo, Opus Dei Etiquetas:
  1. Aún no hay comentarios.
  1. No trackbacks yet.


Por favor, inicia sesión con uno de estos métodos para publicar tu comentario:

Logo de

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Google+ photo

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Google+. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Imagen de Twitter

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Twitter. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Foto de Facebook

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Facebook. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )


Conectando a %s

A %d blogueros les gusta esto: